Why I developed a sudden passion for the Highland League?


Five years ago I had never heard of the Highland League and was too busy focusing on the Scottish Premier League. Which was a stupid mistake from me. Soon I was keen on the idea of becoming a Football reporter due to me always reading newspapers. So I decided to chat to my friend’s Dad Paul Third who is a sports journalist for the Press and Journal about how he got into the journalism industry. During my chat with him he suggested that I should start reporting for the Highland League Hub.

On the 17th September 2013 I reported on my first ever match for the site which was Fraserburgh versus Forres Mechanics in a game which I enjoyed a lot. Later on, I attended a Scottish Cup game between Turriff and Wick Academy where I conducted my first interview with Turra boss Mark Simpson and I went on to have a good professional relationship with him during his spell in the Turriff hot seat.

There I also made friendships with some of the committee there which showed the friendliness of the league. I was impressed by the top quality of the teams and the amount of goals was a wow factor. I met Shfltv’s Ross Maclean who I went on to interview a variety of managers and players for him on the front of a camera which was a brilliant experience and has improved my confidence a great deal. From then on I have got on very well with him and even interviewed the Brora Players when they clinched the league title last year which was super.

These days I never really pay attention to the Scottish Premier League I just focus on the Highland League the most competitive league in Scotland. I developed my passion for this league due to the exciting supporters who support their teams with their whole heart and soul. The fans who stand out are the Chuffs they create an astonishing atmosphere and show their passion for Inverurie Locos.

The two best games I have witness must be Fraserburgh thrashing Fort William 9-0 as you couldn’t even look away from the match for a split second in case you missed a goal. The other was the League Cup final when Clachnacuddin dramatically beat Buckie Thistle on penalties. I enjoy the factor that any team can win any match whether your Brora or Fort William. This is why I developed a sudden passion for the league.

Copyright © Sean McAngus and Scottish Fitba Base

All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without written permission from this site’s author Sean McAngus and owner is strictly prohibited. All photos belong to the photographers who took them.

Follow me on all these sites: seanmcangusfootballblog.wordpress.com

https://www.facebook.com/Scottish-FitbaBase

https://twitter.com/ScottishFitba  

SNAPCHAT: @ScottishFitba

4 thoughts on “Why I developed a sudden passion for the Highland League?

Leave a comment