Deveronvale defeat Rothes


Deveronvale 3v1 Rothes
Saturday 28th February 2015
IMG_0110

 

 

 

 

 

Another Saturday watching Deveronvale who were against Rothes at Princess Royal Park this time it was a shorter trip to the ground as it’s just across the bridge from where I live in Macduff. The good weather that morning was great news for me as I went to report on this game for the Highland League Hub. The question running around my mind before kick off was Deveronvale going to recover from last week’s humiliating 6-1 defeat at Fraserburgh and were they going to be performing better as well. Rock bottom Rothes traveled to Banff looking for a positive result versus the Vale after their last two games were heavy defeats to Huntly and Forres.

 
The Match Deveronvale left their support with some smiles on their faces as they beat Rothes 3-1 after dominating the match. Early on the hosts had a penalty claim turned down by Referee Alan Hogg as Striker Stuart Leslie was adjudged to have been taken down inside the box which anger some of the players. The home side took the lead in the 25th minute as Graham Rodgers darted into the box and he slotted the ball into the far corner of the net with the Speysiders keeper helpless.
Soon after a stronger claim for a spot kick happened with Kyle Rae being chopped to the ground however again the Ref didn’t award it with the home support angry over this decision. The hosts should have won by more goals, but some tremendous saves by début keeper Khalid Al Sammarraie shorten the goal margin. Five minutes after the interval a clever backheel found Rodgers who doubled the Vale’s lead as he netted a blitzing strike to bag his second goal of the game.
Poor defending allowed Rothes into the penalty area with Kenneth Mair being brought down inside the box. The referee had no choice but to awarded the visitors a spot kick which Stuart Hodge calmly stepped up to fire it home to give the Speysiders some sort of lifeline. Minutes the home side made it 3-1 as young Paul Sutherland skillfully drove into the box and he passed to Stuart Leslie who was composed as he turned to stab the ball home. Near the end of the game Connor Rennie crashed a header against the crossbar after a good delivery by Greg Buchan. A deserved three points for Ally Macleod who controlled all the game and this may of wipe away the humiliating memory of being defeated 6-1 last weekend by Fraserburgh.

 

Matchday Stats Deveronvale 3(Rodgers 25, 50 Leslie 61) Rothes 1(Stuart Hodge57 pen) Star Man – Stuart Leslie  (Deveronvale) Ratings sausage Roll  9/10, Game  8/10,  Weather  7/10 , Ref 7/10

My Matchday  I arrived at the ground at 2.30pm armed with my small notepad and pencils galore. There I waited for a team sheet patiently so while I had nothing to do I chatted about the departure of Michael Dunn from Rothes to Keith with a guy I know through reporting. So as I went to my seat with a minute left until the game would begin everyone including me stood to do a minute applause in a tribute to legend BINGO Bremmer who sadly passed away in January. The match began with not a lot of action at first but as more chances were created one of my stupid pens had run out. So I quickly searched through my bag for another one which I thankfully found if I haven’t of I would have been completely doomed. I have to admit at times I was distracted watching a game which involved Deveronside across the field which had two goals in round a minute.

As the opener arrived courtesy of Graham Rodgers the woman right behind me was so delighted that he screamed right in my ear as loud as a foghorn for a moment I couldn’t hear anything. This lady certainly had lots of passion for the team she supported. At the break, I dashed down the pie shop to grab something to eat and drink. For me, it was a sausage roll and a coca cola. The Sausage Roll was very delicious and I felt like I hadn’t eaten in a long time before I tucked into my Sausage Roll.

The game restarted with more action happening this time the introduction of younger Greg Buchan helped the hosts become an even better threat on the right flank with Buchan whipping in some deadly crosses. The single striker for Rothes wasn’t working at all with the long balls going too far forward for Callum McIntosh to attack. The Vale finished their opposition off with two classy goals after a penalty was awarded against which the home side couldn’t argue about.

The Final time whistle blew with many smiling faces among the Vale faithful who saw a better performance from their team than last week’s poor display at Fraserburgh. In a way, I can be considered for giving Vale bad luck last weekend as I was at the game. But this weekend I was sort of lucky charm as they recorded a quite conformable victory. Rothes début keeper was brilliant and I was very impressed with him. Could he be the perfect replacement for Ricky Horne who left in January for Dyce Juniors?

 

 

 

Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog post. I hope you’ll explore the site. I send out a newsletter each week which includes exclusive content about the Highland League, you will be told first about any additions to the blog, also competitions are exclusive for the subscribers which are coming soon. There’s only one way to get all these great things which is by email subscribing to my blog.

Here are other posts that you would be interested in reading.

All material in this feature is the Intellectual Property of the author and as such may not be reproduced in print or for commercial gain without the prior permission of Sean McAngus.

 

 

Leave a Reply

