Fraserburgh overcome a hard working Lossiemouth


On a nice and sunny afternoon the Broch left their support with smiles on their faces as they narrowly defeated Lossiemouth 1-0. The host threatened first with Graham Johnson swinging in a corner from the left flank which Marc Davidson headed wide of the target. Then Ryan Cowie played a clever pass to Johnson who smashed the ball goal bound but Andrew Stewart superbly blocked the effort which resulted in him being later taken off due to picking up an injury.
The visitors almost took the lead as Ryan Farquhar was put through one and one with the keeper but Joe Barbour came off his line to block the shot. On the stroke of half time Johnson let fly with a brilliant curling effort which Connor Hall tremendously tipped over the bar as the ball looked to be heading for the top corner.
In the 81st minute Fraserburgh were awarded a penalty as one of Lossie players had adjudged to have handled the ball. Marc Dickson coolly stepped up to blast the spot kick home to grabbed all three points for the hosts. While Lossiemouth will be extremely gutted that they didn’t get anything out of the match.

Matchday Stats Fraserburgh 1 ( 81 Dickson Pen) Lossiemouth 0 Star Men – Darren Bailey and Connor Hall.(Lossiemouth) Ratings Sausage Roll 10/10, Game 7/10, Weather 10/10 , Ref 5/10

My Matchday I arrived at the ground at 2.30pm armed with my notepad and pencils galore. There I waited for a team sheet so while I was waiting I watch Scotland versus Ireland in the Six Nations on the big Television in the board room. It was totally embarrassing seeing Scotland being ripped apart by the Irish as easy as soft bread. When I got to my seat I tucked into a yummy steak pie and drank my Cola very quickly as the game was just about to start. It was a heat wave and I was sweating like a pig . The match began with some half decent chances but the sun made it hard for me to see the action. I was very impressed with the solid back line which the visitors had. Especially Darren Bailey who in every game I see him is getting better and he’s a hard worker all the time. Bailey is certainly a player I would put in list of top players in the Highland League without a doubt. The Final time whistle blew and something very funny happened as I was heading to do interviews this old man came up to me and stole my teamsheet for some odd reason. He said “You stole my teamsheet young man.” This triggered me into laughing so much. That’s why I love the Highland League because you always have a great laugh at all the games.

Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog post. I hope you’ll explore the site me. I send out a newsletter each week which includes exclusive content about the Highland League, you will be told first about any additions to the blog, also competitions are exclusive for the subscribers which are coming soon. There’s only one way to get all these great things which is by email subscribing to my blog.

Here are other posts that you would be interested in reading.

Copyright © Sean McAngus and Scottish Fitba Base, 2013-2017

All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without written permission from this site’s author Sean McAngus and owner is strictly prohibited. Links and excepts may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Sean McAngus and the Scottish Fitba Base with appropriate and specific link to the original content along with permission from Sean McAngus as well. All content even any quotes from Managers or players and all photos belongs to this site only. 

Find us here:

Website: seanmcangusfootballblog.wordpress.com/
Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/Scottish-FitbaBase
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/ScottishFitball

Leave a Reply

