How photographer Donald Cameron got passionate for the Highland league?


Here is my first post in our new series on how different people have become passionate for the Highland League. Founder of the Scottish Fitba Base Sean McAngus spoke to talented photographer Donald Cameron.

Cameron can be seen at Grant Street Park with his camera taking photos of Clachnacuddin games or at Shinty matches braving the horrible weather when it comes. While spectators can afford to have a little sleep if the game is boring, Cameron stays alert so he doesn’t miss photographing a goal.

Below are some of his photos of Clachnacuddin vs Buckie Thistle:

IMG_1832

IMG_2230

Cameron said:”I have only been following the Highland League for just over a year now. “I was looking to add an extra feather to my cap with my photography. I also photograph shinty which is in my blood from my ancestors and I played the sport in a brief spell with Inverness during my mid 20s.

“I started photography with a digital single-lens reflex camera in 2009. I received an award for 25 years with an office equipment company. When I was made redundant in 2011 I updated some of my equipment and every year since.

“Now I work with another local office equipment company in Inverness I find that customers and sports people cross over. Sport is my thing with the characters turning out week in week out.

“If I can help promote a club locally with my hobby job and maybe get a little to cover some of the expenses of updating my equipment that’s great. However selling to the printed media is very difficult as I was reminded last week by a local paper. At the ground it’s a great family atmosphere and they take the preverbal out of me which is all good.”

Thanks to Donald Cameron for sharing his story on how he got passionate for the Highland League. I’ve got good news for you I am writing a book about people’s different stories about becoming passionate for the Highland League. If you want your story to be told drop me an email at ScottishFitbaBase@gmail.com.

Also check out more of Donald Cameron’s photos on his website: http://www.photoboxgallery.com/noremacpix

Copyright © Sean McAngus and Scottish Fitba Base, 2013-2017  

All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without written permission from this site’s author Sean McAngus and owner is strictly prohibited. All photos belong to the photographers who took them.

Follow me : seanmcangusfootballblog.wordpress.com

Donate to the blog:paypal.me/SeanMcAngus

https://www.facebook.com/Scottish-FitbaBase

https://twitter.com/ScottishFitba  

SNAPCHAT: @ScottishFitba

Leave a Reply

